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1 RECOMMENDATION

It is recommended that the Board of Education (BOE) Finance and Infrastructure
Committee approve an increase in monthly A+ fees beginning next school year. The
current monthly fee is $85 per month per child. The Department of Education (DOE) is
recommending an initial rate increase to $100 per month per child effective July 1, 2016,
and subsequent increases to $110 per month per child effective July 1, 2017, and $120 per
month per child effective July 1, 2018.

The recommendation takes into account rising operational program costs as well as the
fiscal impact of the upcoming minimum wage increases slated for upward adjustments
annually each January 1 over the next three years per state law.

2. RECOMMENDED EFFECTIVE DATE

July 1, 2016 to $100 per month.
July 1, 2017 to $110 per month.
July 1, 2018 to $120 per month.

3. RECOMMENDED COMPLIANCE DATE (if different from the effective date)

Not applicable.
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4.

DISCUSSION

a. Conditions leading to the recommendation

The self-sustaining A+ program has not received general fund appropriations to support
its operations since Fiscal Year 2010." Its budget is comprised of fees paid by
parents/guardians per student and subsidies provided by the Department of Human
Services (DHS). The A+ program was established in 1990 and services an average of
20,000 elementary children per year.

Chapter 387, Hawaii Revised Statutes, Wage and Hour Law, Section 2, Minimum
Wages and Chapter 12-20, Hawaii Administrative Rules, Wage and Hour requires every
employer to pay each employee wages at a rate of not less than the effective minimum
wage. Further, Act 82, Session Laws of Hawaii (SLH) 2014 substantially raises the
minimum wage rate by an overall 39.33 percent in Hawaii over a four-year period, as
outlined in the chart below.

Minimum Wage Increase in
minimum
wage from
previous
year
As of January 1, 2007, the Hawaii minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. 0
Effective January 1, 2015, the minimum wage will be $7.75 per hour. $.50
Effective January 1, 2016, the minimum wage will be $8.50 per hour. $.75
Effective January 1, 2017, the minimum wage will be $9.25 per hour. $.75
Effective January 1, 2018, the minimum wage will be $10.10 per hour. $.85

Based on the current $85 monthly fee, the DOE recommends a fee increase over a
three-year period as outlined in the chart below.

Current Fee = $85 per month per child
Effective Date Amount of the New Monthly Annual Fee
Increase Fee (Monthly Fee
x 9 months)
July 1, 2016 $15 $100 $300
July 1, 2017 $10 $110 $990
July 1, 2018 $10 $120 $1080

! General Fund Appropriations received FY 2008 to FY 2010: $4,699,422 (FY 2008), $1,789,472 (FY 2009), $1,729,357 (FY 2010)
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b. Previous action of the Board and Committee(s) on the same or similar matter.

On June 7, 2011, the BOE Committee on Finance and Infrastructure approved a
recommendation to set the fee for the A+ Program at an amount per child that reflects
the actual cost to run a self-sustaining A+ Program.

On June 21, 2011, at its General Business Meeting, the BOE approved a flat monthly
fee of $85 per child, effective July 1, 2011.

Other policies affected
None.
Arguments in support of the recommendation

Act 82, SLH 2014 increased the minimum wage rate from $7.25 to $7.75, effective

July 1, 2015. By 2018, the minimum wage rate will increase to $10.10. The DOE
anticipates an operating deficit beginning in Fiscal Year 2018 of $376,994, while private
providers have reported negative operating budgets are occurring with Fiscal Year
2015. The chart below outlines the estimated DOE deficit in Fiscal Years 2018 - 2020,
if the monthly fee remains at $85.

Projected A+ Operating Budget at $85/month
FY 2017 | FY2018 | FY 2019 | FY 2020
Appropriation Ceiling 11,000,000(11,000,000| 11,000,000{ 11,000,000
|Beginning Cash Balance| 3,056,286| 1,549,646| (376,994)|(2,303,634)
Revenues 7,143,360| 7,143,360| 7,143,360| 7,143,360
Expenditures 8,650,000| 9,070,000| 9,070,000| 9,070,000
Ending Cash Balance 1,549,646( (376,994)|(2,303,634)((4,230,274)

The chart below outlines the estimated cash balance with the proposed fee increases.
In Fiscal Year 2018, the actual revenues, expenditures, and operational costs should be
revisited and the projected A+ operating budget adjusted to determine whether an
additional fee increase is necessary.

Projected A+ Operating Budget with Proposed Increase
FY 2017 | FY 2018 | FY 2019 | FY 2020
Appropriation Ceiling 11,000,000|11,000,000{11,000,000| 11,000,000
Beginning Cash Balance| 3,056,286| 2,069,646 923,006 (93,634)
Revenues 7,663,360| 7,923,360| 8,053,360| 8,053,360
Expenditures 8,650,000 9,070,000| 9,070,000( 9,070,000
Ending Cash Balance 2,069,646 923,006| (93,634)|(1,110,274)
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Note: Of the 180 A+ sites, 50 (28%) are run by the DOE and 130 (72%) by private
providers. Monthly A+ fees are paid directly by parents/quardians to DOE A+ sites or
private providers. Overall, the DOE only collects 28 percent of the A+ monthly fees for
enrollments as revenue. The remaining 72 percent goes directly to the private
providers.

In addition, the subsidies received from DHS are reported as revenue. However, the
number of families qualifying for subsidies fluctuates resulting in an unspent balance.
Any unused balance is returned to DHS in the first semester of the following school
year.

Further, a portion of the DOE revenue also funds additional amounts for requested
student accommodations for DOE and private provider sites. The costs of student
accommodations continue to rise. The following chart outlines the accommodations
costs.

Fiscal Year DOE Private Provider Total
2014-15 371,048 $347,560 $418,608
2015-16 393,160 $434,024 $527,184

Total | $164,208 $781,584 $945,792

In Hawaii, private schools charge more than DOE schools for childcare costs per child
(see chart below).

Private School Annual Rate Monthly Rate
(Annual Rate divided by 9)

lolani School $1850° $206

Mid Pacific Institute $2400° $267

Punahou School $1295° $144

As a comparison, the annual rate has been divided by nine months to align with the
DOE monthly rate calculation. Since the A+ program launched in 1990, the program
has used a nine-month payment schedule to align with the 180-day school year. This
equates to a 20-day/month-service calendar.

Across the nation, school districts charge as low as $48/week or $192/month or as high
as $120/week or $480/month for after-school care. A 2014 report from the Afterschool
Alliance Organization® noted “the average weekly cost of $113.50, an increase from
$74.41 in 2009,” spent on afterschool programs as reported by parents. The report
surveyed 13,709 households and at least 200 interviews in each state including random
supplemental telephone interviews.

2 http://iwww.iolani.org/files/pdfs/2015-16_after_school_programs_8315.pdf

3 hitp:/iwww.midpac.edufextendedlearing/downloads/MPI-XLP-Catalog-Spring-2015-updated-12-09-2014.pdf

* http://mww3.punahou.edu/ccapplication/catalog/catalog.aspx

% »Afterschool Programs in Demand - Afterschool Alliance.” 2014. 23 Oct. 2015 < http://www.afterschoolalliance.org/documents/AA3PM-
2014/AA3PM_National_Report.pdf > Pages 22 and 24
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Percentage of afterschool programs tocated ina

public schoot Buliding, as reported by parerts

$113.50

st

$110.30

The average amount  Parents with

parents report

children in

spending per week grades K-5
on their child’s
afterschool program

Afterschool program providers

$119.50 $121.20

Parents with Parents with
children in children in
grades 6-8 grades 9-12

The Wallace Foundation® Out-of-School Time Calculator allows for calculation of how
much it will cost to provide after-school care for 40 students, 3.5 hours/day for a 4-week
period in Hawaii. The weekly low is $55, median is $146, and high is $185 equating to
a monthly rate of $220, $584, and $740 respectively. For a program with just one (1)
student, the weekly low is $74, median is $112, and high is $134 equating to a monthly

rate of $320, $484, and $580.

e. Arguments against the recommendation

Families may not be able to afford the price increase. Enrollment may decrease. The
chart below shows a trend of declining A+ enrollment over the last seven years.

Fiscal Year Enroliment % Change
2008 - 2009 28,306 n/a
2009 - 2010’ 25,477 -11%
2010 - 2011° 22,078 -15%
2011 - 2012° 20,728 7%
2012 - 2013" 20,685 -0.2%
2013 - 2014 20,436 -1%
2014 - 2015" 19,646 -4%
2015 - 2016™ 19,448 -1%

® http://www.wallacefoundation.org/cost-of-quality/cost-calculator/Pages/cost-calculator.aspx

" Decrease in enrollment due to 2009-2010 furlough days
® Continued after effects of the budgetary crisis

® The effect of $85 flat fee per child, effective July 1, 2011, was partially offset by DOE statewide enroliment increases. The substantial
enrollment increase for this school year may be attributed to the large number of births in 2006. The birth increase correlates to the
school year 2011-12 kindergarten enrollment which resulted in approximately 1000 more students as compared to previous years.

9 Decrease in enroliment due to changes in qualifications for subsidies
"' Decrease in enroliment due to new Kindergarten cutoff age

" Projected 2015-16 enrollment based on first quarter enroliment



The Honorable Grant Chun
November 17, 2015

Page 6

f.

Other agencies or department of the State of Hawaii involved in the action

The state Department of Human Services (DHS) provides A+ monthly fee subsidies for
eligible families that meet income requirements.

Targeting a three-year fee increase beginning on July 1, 2016, will allow DHS the
necessary time to plan, project its budgetary needs, and assess and submit any
Legislative budgetary requests, if needed.

Possible reaction of the public, professional organizations, unions, DOE staff and/or
others to the recommendations

The public and professional organizations may opine negatively as fee increases create
a financial hardship for families. However, should a fee increase effective July 1, 2016
receive approval by the BOE, families will be given time to plan ahead and make
financial adjustments, as needed.

A+ private providers will support a fee increase due to the rising minimum wage. During
the 2015 Legislative session, private providers lobbied for the reinstatement of general
fund appropriations to address projected budgetary shortfalls. They have also
communicated their concerns and proposed solutions for the DOE to consider in writing
to and during meetings with the DOE.

Educational implication

The A+ program provides childcare for latchkey students and may have educational
implications if not provided.

Personnel implications
Prior A+ program fee increases have negatively impacted enroliment. The program
anticipates a drop in enrollment should a fee increase be approved. When the A+ fee

was increased in 2011, the average monthly enroliment decreased 7 percent from
22,078 to 20,728.

An enroliment decrease may result in personnel cutbacks. Since the last fee increase in
2011, the A+ program has experienced a downward trend in enroliment.

Facilities implications

Use of facilities is provided at no charge to private providers.
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k. Financial implications

A fee increase will allow the DOE and private providers to provide afterschool options for
families with latchkey children without general fund appropriations.

Implementing a fee increase on July 1, 2016, will allow the DOE adequate time to
properly initiate the procurement process to notice vendors including but not limited to
current vendors of a new Request for Proposal (RFP) for the A+ program. With a fee
increase, the issuance of a new RFP is needed to allow for open competition between all
interested parties seeking to provide services for the A+ program.

The DOE has evaluated the feasibility of a sliding fee scale pursuant to Act 119, Section
129 (2015). Prior to the A+ program implementation of a flat fee per child in 2011, the
program was offered to families of public elementary school students for a $55 monthly
fee for the first child in each family with a sliding scale for siblings. At that time, the state
subsidy accounted for two-thirds of the program cost, or $9.3 million in school year 1995-
96. The current pricing proposal assumes a rate paid by parents/guardians and a
subsidy paid by DHS for qualifying families. The paid flat rate per child per month is set
assuming no tiered pricing and would need to be substantially increased beyond the
current proposal if a sliding scale were to be developed. Further, the burdensome
administration of a tiered pricing/sliding scale is problematic to manage for DOE, DHS,
and private providers.

KSM:CSM:itk

c. Office of Curriculum, Instruction and Student Support
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Recommendation:

Fee increases over a three-year period

Current Fee = $85 per month per child

Effective Date Amount of the New Monthly Annual Fee
Increase Fee (Monthly Fee x
9 months)
July 1, 2016 $15 $100 $900
July 1, 2017 $10 $110 $990
July 1, 2018 $10 $120




Conditions Leading to Recommendation

Rising operational program costs

Fiscal impact of minimum wage increases per state law
Self-sustaining program

No general fund appropriations since Fiscal Year 2010

Minimum wage rates required by law

« Chapter 387, Hawaii Revised Statutes, \Wage and Hour Law,
Section 2, Minimum Wages

« Chapter 12-20, Hawaii Administrative Rules, Wage and Hour
« 39.33 percent minimum wage increase over a four-year period




Summary of Minimum Wage Increase

Minimum Wage Increase in
minimum wage

As of January 1, 2007, 0
Hawaii minimum wage = $7.25 per hour
Effective January 1, 2015, $.50
Hawaii minimum wage = $7.75 per hour
Effective January 1, 2016, $.75
Hawaii minimum wage = $8.50 per hour
Effective January 1, 2017, $.75
Hawaii minimum wage = $9.25 per hour
Effective January 1, 2018, $.85
Hawaii minimum wage = $10.10 per hour




If the fee remains at $85. ..

« DOE A+ operating deficit beginning in Fiscal Year 2018 of ($376,994)
« A+ Private Providers report negative budgets in Fiscal Year 2015

Projected A+ Operating Budget at $85/month

FY 2017 FY 2018 FY 2019 FY 2020
Appropriation Ceiling 11,000,000 11,000,000 11,000,000 11,000,000
Beginning Cash 3,056,286 1,549,646 (376,994)| (2,303,634)
Balance
Revenues 7,143,360 7,143,360 7,143,360 7,143,360
Expenditures 8,650,000 9,070,000 9,070,000 9,070,000
Ending Cash Balance 1,549,646 (376,994)| (2,303,634), (4,230,274)




Proposed Increase

« DOE A+ operating deficit begins in Fiscal Year 2019 versus 2018
 In FY 2018, actual operational costs will be revisited to determine
whether an additional fee increase is necessary

Projected A+ Operating Budget with Proposed Increase

FY 2017 FY 2018 FY 2019 FY 2020
Appropriation Ceiling 11,000,000 11,000,000 11,000,000 11,000,000
Beginning Cash 3,056,286 2,069,646 923,006 (93,634)
Balance
Revenues 7,663,360 7,923,360 8,053,360 8,053,360
Expenditures 8,650,000 9,070,000 9,070,000 9,070,000
Ending Cash Balance 2,069,646 923,006 (93,634) (1,110,274)




A+ Revenue
* 180 A+ sites:
« 50 (28%) are DOE
« 130 (72%) Private Providers

 DOE collects 28 percent of the A+ monthly fees for
enrollments as revenue

* Private Providers collect 72 percent




DHS Subsidies

Managed by Hawaii Department of Human Services
(DHS)

Reported as revenue for the DOE
DOE allocates subsidies to Private Providers
Currently, subsidy is based on $85 per month per child

Number of families qualifying fluctuates resulting in an
unspent balance

Unspent balance is returned to DHS




Accommodations

« DOE A+ budget covers amounts requested for student
accommodations for both DOE and Private Providers
« Student accommodation costs continue to rise

Fiscal Year DOE Private Provider Total
2014-15 $71,048 $347,560 $418,608
2015-16 $93,160 $434,024 $527,184

Total $164,208 $781,584| $945,792




Childcare Costs in Hawaii

 Private schools charge more than the DOE

 Annual rate divided by nine months to align with DOE
monthly rate calculation

* A+ nine-month payment schedule aligns with the 180-day
school year equating to a 20-day/month-service calendar

Monthly Rate

' | R
Private School Annual Rate (Annual Rate + 9)
lolani School $1850 $206
Mid Pacific Institute $2400 $267

Punahou School $1295 $144




Childcare Costs Across the Nation
Low: $48/week = $192/month High: $120/week = $480/month

Percentage of afterschool programs located in a Afterschool program providers:
public school building, as reported by parents

20038 2014

$113.50 $110.30 $121.20

The average amount  Parents with Parents with Parents with
parents report children in children in children in

spending per week grades K-5 grades 6-8 grades 9-12
on their child’s
afterschool program




Sliding Fee Scale versus Flat Fee

* The current proposal assumes a rate paid by parents/guardians and a
subsidy paid by DHS for qualifying families.

« The paid flat rate per child per month is set assuming no tiered
pricing and would need to be substantially increased beyond the
current proposal if a sliding scale were to be developed.

« A tiered pricing/sliding scale is burdensome and problematic to
manage for DOE, DHS, and private providers.

Feasibility of a sliding fee scale - Act 119, Section 129 (2015)
Prior to 2011, the A+ program was offered to families of public
elementary school students for a $55 monthly fee for the first child in
each family with a sliding scale for siblings. The state subsidy
(general fund appropriation) accounted for two-thirds of the program
cost, or $9.3 million in school year 1995-96.



Concerns Regarding Recommendation

« Families may not be able to afford the fee increase

* Enroliment may decrease

Fiscal Year Enroliment % Change
2008 - 2009 28,306 n/a
2009 - 2010 25,477 -11%
2010 - 2011 22,078 -15%
2011 - 2012 20,728 -T%
2012 - 2013 20,685 -0.2%
2013 - 2014 20,436 -1%
2014 - 2015 19,646 -4%
2015 - 2016* 1%

*based on first quarter enroliment

19,448




Concerns by Families and Others

Fee increases create a financial hardship for families.
However, should a fee increase be effective July 1, 2016,
families will be given time to plan ahead and make financial
adjustments, as needed.

A+ Private Providers will support a fee increase due to the
rising minimum wage. During the 2015 Legislative session,
private providers lobbied for the reinstatement of general fund
appropriations to address projected budgetary shortfalls.

Targeting a three-year fee increase to begin on July 1 will
allow DHS the necessary time to plan, project its budgetary
needs, and assess and submit any Legislative budgetary
requests, if needed.




A Fee Increase effective July 1, 2016...

* Allows the DOE and private providers to continue to
provide the A+ program without general fund
appropriations

 Provides the DOE with adequate time to properly
Initiate the procurement process to notice vendors
including but not limited to current vendors of a new
Request for Proposal (RFP) for the A+ program
« The issuance of a new RFP is needed to allow for
open competition between all interested parties
seeking to provide services for the A+ program

« Most importantly gives families definitive fee
information about the A+ Program for financial
planning purposes for the next three school years




