JOSH GREEN, M.D. GOVERNOR



ROY M. TAKUMI CHAIRPERSON

STATE OF HAWAI'I BOARD OF EDUCATION P.O. BOX 2360 HONOLULU, HAWAI'I 96804

TO: Board of Education

FROM:	Roy M. Takumi
	Chairperson, Board of Education

AGENDA ITEM:	Board action on the election of committee leadership and
	committee members

I. BACKGROUND

A. <u>Committee Leadership and Committee Members</u>. According to Section 5.3 of the <u>Bylaws of the Hawaii State Board of Education</u> (Bylaws), the Board of Education (Board) appoints the committee chairperson and committee vice chairperson of each standing committee from among and by the Board's membership. The Bylaws further state, in Section 5.4, that the Board votes on the appointment of standing committee members.

At its July 24, 2023, Special Meeting, the Board adopted a slate of standing committee chairpersons, committee vice chairpersons, and committee members, as described in a <u>memorandum from Board Chairperson Warren Haruki</u>. Two Board members are no longer on the Board (Warren Haruki and Shanty Asher) and three new Board members are starting their terms (Roy Takumi, Elynne Chung, and Wesley Lo).

II. RECOMMENDATION

I propose that for the Board's slate of standing committee chairpersons, committee vice chairpersons, and committee members:

- Board Member Elynne Chung be added as a member to the Student Achievement Committee;
- Board Member Wesley Lo be appointed Committee Vice Chairperson for the Finance and Infrastructure Committee;
- Board Member Wesley Lo be appointed Committee Chairperson for the Human Resources Committee; and
- Former Board Members Warren Haruki and Shanty Asher be removed from the standing committee membership.

If adopted, the Board's composition will be as reflected in **Exhibit A**, with the additions indicated in bold.

Proposed Motion: "Moved to appoint the Board's standing committee chairpersons, committee vice chairpersons, and committee members as outlined in Exhibit A of Board Chairperson Takumi's memorandum dated May 9, 2024."

<u>Exhibit A</u>

Proposed Board of Education Composition (through June 30, 2024)

Board Vice Chairperson Kaimana Barcarse

Student Achievement Committee		
Chairperson:	Bill Arakaki	
Vice Chairperson:	Lauren Moriarty	
Members:	Kaimana Barcarse Elynne Chung Kahele Dukelow Ken Kuraya	

Finance and Infrastructure Committee		
Chairperson:	Ken Kuraya	
Vice Chairperson:	Wesley Lo	
Members:	Bill Arakaki	
	Kaimana Barcarse	
	Makana McClellan	
	Lauren Moriarty	

Human Resources Committee		
Chairperson:	Wesley Lo	
Vice Chairperson:	Makana McClellan	
Members:	Bill Arakaki	
	Kaimana Barcarse	
	Kahele Dukelow	
	Ken Kuraya	
	Lauren Moriarty	