Printer Friendly Version









Angelica Wai Sam Lao           Nancy Budd      Brian De Lima               Kimberly Gennaula

Wesley Lo, Committee Chairperson

Don Horner, Committee Vice Chairperson



Tuesday, May 15, 2012

12:00 p.m.


Queen Liliuokalani Building

1390 Miller Street, Room 404

Honolulu, Hawaii  96813




   I.       Call to Order

   II.       *Public Testimony on Committee Agenda Items

   III.      Approval of Minutes

   IV.     **Executive Session

a.  Consultation with Deputy Attorney General on Board powers, duties, privileges and liabilities related to student transportation services

  V.      Discussion/Committee action on the Department of Education’s recommendation for providing student transportation services in Fiscal Year 2012-13

   VI.     Adjournment

Persons requiring special assistance or services, such as a sign language interpreter, should call 586-3349 at least three business days before the meeting.

*Any interested person may submit data, views, or arguments in writing to the Board on any agenda item.  An individual or representative wishing to testify should register prior to the meeting.  Testimony must be related to an item that is on the agenda and such person shall be required to identify the agenda item to be addressed by the testimony.  Each individual or representative of an organization is allotted two minutes, or an amount of time otherwise designated by the Chairperson, to provide testimony to the Board.

**This portion of the meeting is a closed meeting pursuant to Section 92-4 and all applicable section 92-5(4), Hawaii Revised Statutes.

In an effort to reduce costs and increase public access to meeting materials, the Board of Education (BOE) will no longer be providing copies of materials for distribution.  Instead, at each meeting there will be two (2) folders of materials for public review and, effective immediately, materials can be viewed online at  For those unable to print, the BOE Office will make copies of such materials at a cost of $0.25 per sheet.                       


                                                                                                Wesley Lo, Committee Chairperson