LISTEN LIVE TO BOARD MEETINGS                                                        CLICK HERE FOR PDF


Brian De Lima     Kili Namauʻu    

Catherine Payne     David Texeria (student representative)

Margaret Cox, Committee Chairperson
Patricia Bergin, Committee Vice Chairperson

Thursday, February 7, 2019
11:00 a.m.

Queen Liliuokalani Building
1390 Miller Street, Room 404
Honolulu, Hawaii  96813


I.          Call to Order

II.         *Public testimony on Student Achievement Committee ("Committee") agenda items

III.         Approval of Meeting Minutes of December 6, 2018 

IV.        Discussion Items

A.       Presentation on Complex Area Superintendent Report:  special education and English learner in the Kailua-Kalaheo Complex Area

B.       Presentation on school level safety and wellness programs and status of the Department of Health and Department of Education's 2017-2018 school year Safety and Wellness Survey

V.           Recommendation for Action 

A.       Committee Action on documents necessary to implement multiple charter school authorizer system, including application for chartering authority, authorizing contract, and authorizer performance evaluation system

VI.          Adjournment


Written testimony may be submitted on any agenda item. Oral testimony will be accepted at the meeting. Each individual is allotted four (4) minutes, or an amount of time otherwise designated by the Chairperson, to provide oral testimony to the Board. In accordance with Hawaii's Sunshine Law (Hawaii Revised Statutes, Chapter 92), testimony should be related to an item that is on the agenda.

Meeting material is available online at and can also be viewed in the Board Office.

Audio of this meeting and the presentation screen used in the meeting will be broadcast live. Contact the Board Office for information on how to access this broadcast.

Persons requiring special assistance or services, such as a sign language interpreter, should contact the Board Office at least three (3) business days before the meeting.


                                                                                                                             Margaret Cox, Committee Chairperson